Sports Link Wins Three Emmys, Including Second Professional

2015 EmmysAt the 46th Annual Lower Great Lakes Regional Emmy Awards, Ball State Sports Link continued its tradition of excellence.

The crowd of journalists and producers from around the Midwest gathered June 26 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis as Sports Link celebrated three nominations in 2014-15.

At the conclusion of the evening, the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences awarded Sports Link with wins in every category the program was nominated.

In the student category, Sports Link won for Outstanding Student Production – Newscast & Information for the celebrated series Out of the Shadows and for Outstanding Student Production – Long Form for “The Return of Jake Brewer.”

Students earning recognition for these include former graduate assistant Brad Dailey, senior Dillon Welch, juniors Matt Organ and Ryan Bickford, sophomore Matt Craig, and winter 2014 graduate Luke Martin.
The big win of the night came for Video Journalist in which Sports Link garnered its second ever professional Emmy. 2014 graduate Aaron Van Auken’s work on “One Drive: The James Blackwell Story” earned the statuette for the program.

Van Auken is now a producer/editor for Mississippi State Athletics and the SEC Network.

The three wins in 2015 bring Sports Link total to nine Emmys in five years, including two in professional categories.  The first professional win for Sports Link came in 2013 for Video Journalist for the feature story “Finding Refuge.”

The three awards in 2015 bring the TCOM Department’s overall total to 54 all-time Emmys.

2015 Ball State Emmy posse


Author: Alex Kartman

I am the Director of Digital Sports Production and Ball State Sports Link. I produce, direct, and film sports ranging from feature stories to live broadcasts. I freelance as a technical director for the Indiana Pacers, ESPN, Fox Sports and other regional TV. I also love film and attempted to be a critic in a past life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *