Nominees Announced for #Chirpies April 10

Tanner Barton was the 2016 winner of the Caring Cardinal Award. Barton is nominated again in 2017.

Forty individuals and eight teams are among the nominees for the 2017 #Chirpies, to be held April 10 at Emens Auditorium on the Ball State campus.

The Ball State Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and the nation’s first digital sports production program, Ball State Sports Link, will present the university’s third annual student-athlete awards show.

Chase Bryant, the 24–year–old rising star, top–flight guitar player and head–turning songwriter, will bring his high energy live show to this year’s stage as the headliner for the 2017 Chirpies.

Bryant will be joined by ESPN’s Bob Holtzman, former Ball State and current New York Giants quarterback Keith Wenning, WISH-TV sports director Anthony Calhoun and additional guests.

The live show, which begins at 7 p.m. promptly and modeled after The ESPYs, is free and open to the public.

Ticket Information:

  • Ball State Student tickets are FREE at the Emens box office with a valid Ball State ID. Limit one ticket per student ID and four student IDs per person.
  • The public may pick up four FREE tickets per person at the Emens box office.

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
  • Regan Lewis, Track & Field
  • James Gilbert, Football
  • Tayler Persons, Men’s Basketball
  • Destiny Washington, Women’s Basketball
  • Rachel Bertram, Women’s Swimming & Diving
  • Madison Lee, Softball
Coach of the Year
  • Max Norris, Women’s Tennis
  • Brady Sallee, Women’s Basketball
  • Craig Roberts, Soccer
  • James Whitford, Men’s Basketball
  • Christy Longacre, Field Hockey
Caring Cardinal Award
  • Trey Moses, Men’s Basketball
  • Tanner Barton, Men’s Swimming
  • Mackenzie Kitchel, Women’s Volleyball
  • Shelby Arms, Gymnastics
Team Manager of the Year
  • Matt Wannemuehler, Soccer
  • Emily Neumann, Softball
  • Makayla Johnson, Women’s Swimming & Diving
  • Tim Rosenbaum, Baseball
Support Staff Award
  • Patty Duncan, Equipment Manager
  • Jason Roberson, Strength & Conditioning Coordinator
  • Dan Yats, Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer
  • Joe Zimmerman, Assistant Athletic Trainer
  • Zac Barge, Student Athlete Support Services Academic Advisor
  • Pat Quinn, Deputy Athletics Director
  • Josh Pawlus, Director of Game Operations
  • Cody Hartz, Graduate Assistant for Athletic Training
Comeback of the Year
  • Sabrina Mangapora, Women’s Volleyball
  • Cullen Tyler, Men’s Swimming vs. Notre Dame
  • Field Hockey (2016 season)
  • Indoor Track & Field (2017 spring season)
Female Athlete of the Year
  • Jill Morrison, Basketball
  • Jazmin Smith, Track & Field
  • Lorina White, Soccer
  • Mikayla Mooney, Field Hockey
  • Renee Bennett, Basketball
  • Leah Mattingly, Soccer
Male Athlete of the Year
  • Alex Call, Baseball
  • KeVonn Mabon, Football
  • Franko House, Basketball
  • Lucas Andersen, Tennis
  • Matt Walsh, Volleyball
Female Team of the Year
  • Tennis
  • Soccer
  • Basketball
Male Team of the Year
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Author: Sports Link Staff

Sports Link showcases Cardinal student-athletes’ accomplishments on the field, in the classroom and within the surrounding community. Follow @bsusportslink on all social media platforms.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *